More Website Templates @ - January21, 2013!


mapbsjpgThe Bahamas is a member of the British Commonwealth and has a constitutional multi-party parliamentary democracy. Independence was achieved from Great Britain on July 10th, 1973. The Bahamas Government is headed by the Prime Minister. There is an upper house, the Senate which a total of 16 members appointed by the Governor General with the Prime Ministers advice and the opposition leader for five-year terms. Then there’s a lower House of Assembly consisting of 42 seats and members are elected by direct popular vote to serve the five-year terms. Queen Elizabeth II is the nominal Head of State and is represented in The Bahamas by an appointed Governor General. The Bahamas has no income, corporate income, capital gains, inheritance & value-added taxes. Private property is easily acquired and protected in the Bahamas, which has an advanced and efficient legal system based upon English common law.